holiday in Ligury travel guide

Language:  IT  EN  DE  FR



Cinque Terre

In the Middle Ages "terra" (land) had the meaning of "town": indeed this piece of rocky coast is formed by five towns, called Cinque Terre (five lands).

From the archaeological discoveries we know that men lived on this coast since remote ages; we have traces as objects, jewels and ornated shells. Since ancient times, therefore, the men have had to work in order to built, in a narrow space, houses and churches, villages and fields.

Today the five small villages (Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore) are connected one to each other by narrow and winding roads, but also by the railroad, surely more comfortable, and by romantic paths, from where the wonderful panorama of the coast can be admired.

Monterosso al Mare

Monterosso al Mare is the most western of the towns that constitute the Cinque Terre, and it is situated in front of sweet hills cultivated with vines and olive tr ...


The town of Vernazza is in the area of Cinque Terre, that is the part of coast characterized by small villages and terracings used to cultivate the olive tree and ...


Small hamlet of the town of Vernazza, Corniglia differs from the other towns of Cinque Terre as is the only village that does not goes directly on the sea, but is ...


Manarola is a hamlet of the town of Riomaggiore, squeezed between the Ligurian Sea and the steep mountains of the Appennines, situated on a precipitous cape.
< ...


The old village of Riomaggiore is the most eastern one of the so-called Cinque Terre, and is an example of the natural beauty of the territory.

The histo ... by
tommstudio - Promozione turistica on line
P.Iva 02948970138

top | Site Map | About us